Get to Know 600 Global Manager Mike Frericks

Today we got the chance to talk to Mike Frericks, one of our managers at 600 Global. Take a look!

Screen Shot 2017-06-12 at 2.14.37 PM
Mike Frericks (second from the right) pictured with 600 Global colleagues

We kicked off our interview by speaking about his management style. Frericks began by explaining that he tries to be available to everyone as a resource whenever possible. He focuses on providing employees with the tools they need to be successful at 600 Global.

We continued on to pick Frericks’ brain…

Q: Tell us about how your career path led you to 600 Global.

“I was very fortunate, I came right from my undergrad with a BA in Business Management. It’s a pretty broad degree and I was told that the consulting world was a good opportunity for someone like me. I joined the company in June of 2015 and since then I’ve learned a lot. I would say I’ve learned more in of the business side of my degree in my three years at 600 Global than during six years of school.”

Frericks graduated from Wayne State University where he played baseball for the Warriors. Going through two shoulder surgeries to retain his position as a pitcher taught him a lot about perseverance in the face of challenges. It was these surgeries that allowed him to keep his scholarship and work towards an MBA. He played international baseball in Canada, but after facing a third shoulder injury, he decided it was time to hang up his pitching glove and put his focus into a company like 600 Global.

 

“One thing I always took pride in with baseball was that I was always team captain in high school and then in college. We didn’t have team captains until my Junior year but I was chosen as the first captain in our program’s history. So I think my success in business is partly because I’ve always taken on a captain role, communicating between coaches and players, employees and management. I just want to make sure that everyone’s voice is heard.”

Q: What piece of advice you would give somebody who is trying to become more involved in a company like 600 Global?

“I would say, you don’t have to do it alone, everyone in our company we promote from within, so everyone’s been in their shoes — so pick people’s brain and learn something from other people. I want everyone to be successful in this company, we want to help everyone get promoted.”

Frericks believes that the difference between successful and unsuccessful people is belief.

“If people really believe in their big goals they’re gonna be successful – so a lot of times it can just be perspective.”

When Frericks played baseball, he reflected, he would frequently hear guys talking about how they were going make it to the major leagues. The belief in yourself and your ability to succeed can easily be applied to the business world, he feels.

Q: How do you stay motivated throughout the day?

“When I wake up, I think about the new guys, what can I teach the new guys to help them in the future. If you take care of the newest person in the room, everything else will fall into place.”

Frericks’ favorite quote comes from Mark Cuban, American Businessman:

“Work like there is someone working 24 hours to take it all away from you.”

In the end, it all comes down to Frericks’ perspective on the company,

“Everyday that I talk to someone, I want to make people’s days better, whether I’m only speaking to them for a minute or whether they come a part of the company and I know them for the rest of their life. I believe in what 600 Global is doing, we’re changing people’s lives.”

Get to Know 600 Global Manager Mike Frericks

Leave a Reply

